Author Topic: please help me . re: speed controllers  (Read 5187 times)

boyracer081119

please help me . re: speed controllers
« on: March 31, 2011, 16:02:45 »
hi guys im new to all this rc stuff  , well building an rc model tug any way....
rite here goes .. i got the hull all built and everything in place .. servos conected ... just got my batterys for my hand set and not time to test it all .... teh problem i had was that the speed controller seems too small for the battery that i am using to run the motors
i think the speed controller came out of a car or maybe a plane running on what i would call a small battery ..... i have got a 12v, 9 amp motorbike battery and when i conected it,it worked and then ........ssssssss... pooooof lol there was a little hissing noise and a bit of smoke and a burning smell coming from the esc speed controller .... so basicaly what im asking is............ what speed controller do i need to run 2 motors off a 12v , 9amp battery

i would be really greatfull  if any 1 can help me out
                                                                       thanx . ian
ian mccaffrey

biggerstretch

Re: please help me . re: speed controllers
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2011, 20:07:22 »
The motors will have a peak amperage draw, when you  hit full throttle or if the props get fouled ...That is the amperage you need to wory about...
I am running 12v and 15 amps of power to each of two motors. The motors have a 54 amp drain when stalled.The SC / BEC I use is raed for 50 amps forward and 20 amps in reverse ..
Having a SC rated for ALLOT more than what you have would be my answer. Being that I am not an electrician.
Oh , and try to get a waterproof unit if possible.

« Last Edit: April 01, 2011, 10:30:27 by biggerstretch »
Any comment I make is the official view of all the voices in my head.

mersey dave

« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2011, 01:51:50 »
Hi Ian And welcome to the Forum, :) :)