Author Topic: New to towing and need help?  (Read 11742 times)

tango

New to towing and need help?
« on: March 25, 2008, 11:58:34 »
I will now own up, I am new to this towing game (although I have built alot of models)  and would like some helpful advice on how to get started, what models are best suited and more importantly what types are not suitable. Motors, bowthrusters, working winches what works and what doesn't.

I know there is most probably loads of answers to these questions and I don't want WW3 breaking out as we all do things differently and what will work for one might not work for someone else. So lets pool our vast knowledge?? and help us newcomers steer clear of any (expensive) mistakes.
Mark.
I HAVE NOT FAILED, I HAVE JUST FOUND A 1000 WAYS THAT DON'T WORK.

Stavros

Re: New to towing and need help?
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2008, 13:22:39 »
First thing you need Mark is a TUG ;D

STAVROS
OVER HERE PERMAMENTLY TO HAVE A QUIET LIFE

tugs53

• Admiral Poster
« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2008, 13:38:45 »
Followed closely by water! ;D

Mike
MIKE

poll

« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2008, 14:45:22 »

What type of tug? single or twin screw,  what size of tug?

John
« Last Edit: March 25, 2008, 14:49:09 by poll »

tugs53

• Admiral Poster
« Reply #4 on: March 25, 2008, 18:21:45 »
Good question John.
My input, at this stage, is:
1) Equip your tug with good speed control(s)!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
2) Make sure your towpost or towing winch is REALLY secure.
3) Have good 'fendering'.
4) try to guage the 'bollard pull' of your tug, and make sure your towing winch, (if equiped with one), can handle that strain, without 'spooling-out' on you.
5) Make sure your boat is REALLY watertight.
6)Have lots of battery capacity.
Mike
« Last Edit: March 26, 2008, 06:55:49 by tugs53 »
MIKE

poll

« Reply #5 on: March 26, 2008, 13:23:57 »

I agree with Mike's input, and to add to the winch section a simple power
  screwdriver end, ( Photo to follow ) which don't spool out when under load.