Author Topic: First springer build "Miss Penny"  (Read 6173 times)

Dizzyman2011

• :) If it floats ... Push it :)
First springer build "Miss Penny"
« on: July 16, 2013, 05:04:05 »
So after years of building mostly scratch building decided to build a springer my first foot in the water at tugs so far have put about 6 hours into her am not going all to scale as this was built by eye alone no plans just what I bought looked about right holiday coming up in two weeks so this has to be finished in time basic hull drive train 540 27t
Two 6v 2.1AH lead acid am thinking of using them in parallel so will be 4.2AH this will also be running the NAV lights a few pics to show where I am up to
Any criticism comments or suggestions are very welcome as I have no experience with this type of model AT ALL !!!!!!

Dizzyman2011

Re: First springer build "Miss Penny"
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2013, 05:47:37 »
Oh just to note the 13t single is not staying just to line everything up while gluing the bulkhead in lol ;)

Dizzyman2011

« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2013, 07:36:41 »
Would it be a reasonable assumption that I should use the highest turn motor I have to give it slow rpm and loads of grunt or stick with a 27t bog standard well fully rebuildable 27t that is ( I use my comm lathe and brush grinder to give it a little bit better efficiency also my magnetic armature balancer helps as most motors are out of balance as standard not usually by much but little bit sometimes makes the difference ;)
Opinions peeps ????

Dizzyman2011

« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2013, 23:18:43 »
Little bit more done this morning fenders (I think that's what they are called ??)
Finished and glued in place now to let glue dry and get the filler out :)
Might start the wheel house later see how I get on way too hot here

Dizzyman2011

« Reply #4 on: July 16, 2013, 23:19:23 »

tugboyben

• Site Supporter
« Reply #5 on: July 17, 2013, 00:56:03 »
Morning Dizzyman