Author Topic: Next project  (Read 716 times)

marky

Next project
« on: May 10, 2017, 04:08:21 »
For my sins I have been promoted at work which means I now have to manage a group of skilled technical staff operating workshops in a higher education facility one of these happens to be the laser printing facility ,so while I work on my current project they are going to cut out my next one (yeehaa) I am going to endeavour to attempt a paddle tug called the Aid ,using the drawings from the St Canute I am going to get 2 forward ends cut from bow to mid-ships  and elongate by getting extra mid frames cut ,and use the computer to elongate the keel .that's the theory  I think it will work but i'm new to this lark so any help would be appreciated, scaling up the very small drawing I have of the Aid the frames would give it a slightly wider beam but for my purposes it is going to be a model and not an exact scale replica .Just have to speak nicly to my Technical guys and buy them lots of biscuits.

Cheers  Marky 

2tugboats

• Roughly 3/4 inch scale semi accurate
    • Two Tugboats
Re: Next project
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2017, 06:47:17 »
Your project to laser print your model sounds quite interesting. Many here are involved
in the process and so you should hear some news here on the Forum. I am one of those
who want to know more.

Thank you for sharing Marky and I hope the very best for your efforts and those of your
students. I found this picture on the Internet and it gives an idea of what the "Aid" looks
like in her day.

Yet another case of why men and women go down to the sea in ships. . .A pleasure to be here and smell the salt air. Thank you Tugboat Forum. . .Michael in Anacortes, Washington www.twotugboats.com

Toby

• Site Supporter
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2017, 09:22:27 »
Great photo find Michael!